Assignment No. 20: Skip the MEAT.

OCT 15-NOV 14…Skip the MEAT. Beef – it’s not for dinner.

Beginning today, I start a new assignment to go meat free for the next 30 days. I recently discovered that the food service at my son’s school actually encourages students to choose a meatless option on Mondays something that got me thinking. It also brought back some old memories of growing up where I was first introduced to the book Diet for a Small Planet. This 1971 book shed light on meat production and its impact on hunger. It also included hundreds of meat-free recipes. Unfortunately, I don’t recall any of these meals fondly. Accordingly, I do not plan on resurrecting any of the recipes from this book, but I will make a good effort to eat my veggies. It’s Biblical after all. You probably remember how Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego were actually healthier after eating a vegetable only diet. I’m not sure what I’ll do with fish, though. Your thoughts are welcome!

2 thoughts on “Assignment No. 20: Skip the MEAT.

  1. Thanks Mom for pulling out the Diet for a Small Planet cookbook and hosting a delicious vegetarian family dinner Monday night. I guess my tastes have matured since I was a ‘lil one. The only tough parts of this assignment have been the lack of options at Culvers (can you say veggie burger) and Firehouse Subs (the veggie sub). It makes decision making pretty quick though.

Leave a Reply

